Onboard Wifi Driver?

Hello! I’m a real newbie here, and stumbled across this page about 1 day before the USB drivers landed (Congrats!). Even though there is plenty to work on, I personally feel (I understand I may be alone) that a next good step would be the BCM43455 Wireless LAN drivers. Does this driver exist on Windows (anywhere), or just, what would it take to get this running? (Assuming that it is less effort than writing a from-scratch driver…)

1 Like

It’s a lot of work to get it running without help from Broadcom. The easiest thing is to convince Broadcom to recompile. Because of all the ARM64 work for other platforms, they might already have done it. The only thing that needs to be specific to the PI is the USB host driver; USB class drivers are not hardware-specific.

Do we need Broadcom to compile for the BCM43438 WLAN, or should we contact Cypress to compile for the CYW43455, which is the specific chip used in the B+?

should we contact Cypress…

Whatever’s being used. Unfortunately, I’m not the expert as to what chip is used where, so will have to defer to others.

I don’t know the specifics. It sounds like, from what I know, that the Pi uses the Cypress CYW43455, which has a BCM43438 (from Broadcom) inside it… somehow. Something like that.

Look for a USB Wi-Fi adapter with in-box drivers. That will certainly work. Ditto USB Bluetooth adapters. It’s not ideal, but the external adapters are not very expensive.

If there is anything unique to write - absolutely.

Still, if we could talk to RPi Trading (who has contacts with Broadcom), and see if they have anything they could recompile.

Quick question - How does wifi on the Raspberry Pi 3 in Windows 10 IoT core work?

32-bit kernel drivers. Same as the Microchip ethernet and MCCI DWCHSOTG drivers. Not useful to us.